Dear Lovely Reader,

A little gem I received at the Maybelline booth in May’s NYC BeautyCon, The City Mini Palette has been released to the general public and goes for $9.99 (U.S.) on the Maybelline website.  There are 8 palettes to choose from.  The one I received was the Chill Brunch Neutrals, a cool toned palette.

20170718_4.JPG

20170718_5

First off, it’s so cute, the size of a New York City Transit MetroCard.  The colors have some kickback, definitely, have some, and there is fallout.  The color payoff is beautiful and feels more expensive…almost buttery.

20170718_9.JPG

20170718_11.JPG

I had to fill out a little quirky questionnaire at one of their City-themed “MetroCard” booths in order to find out which one of these I would get, and the neutral is a beautiful dream.  I could easily see a novice to a pro using this.  Firm decent packaging.  Easy to pocket, easy to travel with.  It doesn’t come with an applicator though, but I didn’t mind.  I figure I could use my fingers or use an eyeshadow blending brush to apply to my eyelids.

20170718_7

Would I buy it?  Yes!  Is it wearable to work and play?  Yes!  I’m interested in the palettes called Concrete Runway and Matte About Town.  Another one that looks like fun to try is Girls Night Glimmer.

This particular palette is considered a cool toned palette.

As far as I can tell, the City Mini Palette series (they have several in the line) has just been released in the U.S.  If you are not in the continental United States, please check Maybelline’s UK website for future release dates:  https://www.maybelline.co.uk/

MAKEUP NOTE:  To pack on for deeper brighter color pigmentation, I would use a stiffer synthetic animal-friendly brush like the “C” brush by e.l.f. cosmetics, my fave go-to.  For simple deposit and blending and a softer look, I would use a softer blending brush such as the one from Luxie Beauty’s Dreamcatcher Collection (brush number 205).  Luxie series is VEGAN.

Ingredients:

G997714 INGREDIENTS: CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE NYLON-12 BIS-DIGLYCERYL POLYACYLADIPATE-2 DIMETHICONE TALC DIISOSTEARYL MALATE BORON NITRIDE SILICA MAGNESIUM STEARATE CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER ISOSTEARYL ALCOHOL CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE ALUMINA CAPRYLYL GLYCOL ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN SORBIC ACID PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM / MINERAL OIL / HUILE MINERALE SODIUM DEHYDROACETATE CERA MICROCRISTALLINA / MICROCRYSTALLINE WAX / CIRE MICROCRISTALLINE PARAFFIN SORBITAN ISOSTEARATE TOCOPHERYL ACETATE TIN OXIDE SERICA POWDER / SILK POWDER / POUDRE DE SOIE TOCOPHEROL [+/- MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR MICA CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77007 / ULTRAMARINES CI 77742 / MANGANESE VIOLET CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE CI 42090 / BLUE 1 LAKE CI 77510 / FERRIC FERROCYANIDE CI 75470 / CARMINE ] F.I.L. D199112/1

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

