Dear Lovely Reader,

Today I kept the makeup really simple.  I cleansed and moisturized my face per usual then spritzed my face with Smashbox Liquid Primer spray.

blog4

I then tried out the Wet N Wild Photo Focus in Soft Beige.  It has a big plastic paddle applicator to apply the foundation with.  I initially shook the container, which is solid, has some weight to it, and then opened it and found the foundation to be a bit on the runny side.  The runnyness reminded me of the Covergirl Clean Sensitive I featured recently.  The big paddle applicator takes some getting used to (used to soft spongy applicators) but it applies well.  I grabbed a Real Techniques sponge and smoothed/patted the foundation on.  Blends well.  If some weirdness of separation from pores or caking appears after drying, I just spritzed with the Smashbox Primer spray to set it and it immediately smoothed out the look over my pores around my nose.  I used the Maybelline Fit Me concealer under the eyes and that was it.  The finish was natural, the coverage about light to medium, and didn’t feel heavy on the skin.  I felt dewy, and my skin looked like it was having a good day.  I didn’t feel like putting on eyeshadow, liner, blush or bronzer.

blog1

blog2

To complete the “barely there” look, I decided to try out the Smashbox Always On Lipstick in Bawse, a deep gorgeous red that is a collab with YTer SuperWoman a/k/a Lilly Singh and Smashbox.  After going on wet, it immediately started drying on the lips but didn’t dry out my lips.  It felt satiny on my lips, not heavy or pasty.  The color and Smashbox did NOT let me down.  Eight hours later, the color has softened slightly but did not smear!  My new favorite red that I will be rocking for some time to come.

day1

blog2

After 8 hours and a shower — you will see that there is some lip color ruboff in the inner lip.  Otherwise, the color just softened a bit but still stayed true:

blog1.jpg

I say YES to both products — they held up very well in today’s sunshine and summer heat.

The Wet N Wild Photo Focus foundation is around $5.99 on their website while the Smashbox Always On (states it’s on for 8 hours and I can say “pretty much so” on that) is $24.00 on their website and just debuted a new color, a beautiful sweet “mauve pink” that I just may buy next.

Have you tried the Wet N Wild Photo Focus Foundation or the Smashbox Always On Matte Liquid Lipstick?  Which one appealed to you more?

Stay lovely,

signature-for-makeuporbreakups-signoff

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

