Happy Lunar New Year (year of the Fire Rooster!)!

My New Year Resolutions continues with my hair health care this winter.  My prior post was about using Shea Moisture, which has helped “calm”my hair and reduced the scalp itch.  I had problems with moisture retention.  My ends would be fine on the first day after doing the hair masque.  However, after a day, my hair would go wonky as if it wouldn’t make peace with the castor oil.  I was able to see some shine, though, which was good.  The over oiliness in my hair was reduced.  There was still fighting the dry ends so I would use the Marrakesh oil just at the ends and it would help.  This is how my hair looked during that time – the closeup flash washes out the red but this is about hair health.

for the blog.jpg

The frizz!  My ends!

img_20161208_154907

 

But.  There was no thickening of the hair, so I was also thinking, maybe I should try another shampoo.  Mind you, I am impatient, which is not good.  But I’m still in the experimenting stage of finding out what will work for my hair.

Ultimately, my plan includes that I would tend to my hair issues with multiple tools — addressing and handling a problem or issue in multiple ways.  Shampoo or not to shampoo, hair vitamins, hair masque, diet, drink more water….you get the idea.  One thing of just using a simple shampoo and conditioner — those days were over.

My hair masque routine:

img_20161208_180858_edit

I had continued to peruse the YT vloggers about hair care, and this product popped up from time to time, the Pura d’Or line.  I looked it up, all natural, no sulfates or parabens, and specific shampoos address specific conditions, such as one shampoo for hair loss, one shampoo for scalp therapy, etc.  Which is kind of tough, because if you have both conditions, then you are making a decision as to which one you would buy as they are a bit pricey ($19.99 U.S. and up depending on line color, shampoo, conditioner, serum, etc.).

I was pleased to see that besides the Pura d’Or site itself, it is sold elsewhere, in places like Rite Aid and Walgreens, and Amazon.  I got what I like to call the “blue line” (there’s a gold line and a “pro line” of products from Pura d’Or as well) and picked up the Scalp Therapy shampoo and the Hair Loss shampoo.  The difference seems to be the number of ingredients – the blue line has 15 key ingredients, the gold has 17 and the pro 19.  And of course, the prices for the gold line is higher than the blue one and the pro is priced higher than both.

I also got the conditioner for the Hair Loss Prevention one and something called the “Healing Conditioner” to pair it with the Scalp Therapy one.  Using the Hair Loss Prevention shampoo itself caused a bit of drying on the top layer part of my hair, interestingly, so the partner conditioner is a must.  The clear appearance and smell of the original Hair Loss Prevention shampoo itself comes across a bit surprisingly drying, and dare I say a bit chemically smelling, versus the Scalp Therapy shampoo, which is slightly amber in color and smells more herbal like (lavender is a scent I get right off the bat) and felt gentler on my hair.

I tried the Scalp Therapy one first as the scalp was itching (not as intensely but still bothersome) and followed the directions, to thoroughly wet the hair and scalp, apply the shampoo, let it sit in the hair for two minutes then rinse.  I felt a slight tingly sensation on the scalp (no allergic reaction no burning), but what got me was the lavender herb scent.  OMG it was just delicious.

In a week I have already seen a marked difference — my individual hair strands have thickened.  I didn’t want to believe it at first.  But my family has noted a difference.  That surprised me.  I believe the all natural ingredients are helping to “puff up” the hair strands giving the appearance of a fullness.  There is more body now in my hair.  And this is only after a week.  The brand advises to use for the first three months to see results.  Hm!

I will continue to switch uses on the Pura d’Or (scalp therapy one day and hair loss the next time I shampoo).  The Wen and Shea Moisture line has been put aside for now.  I continue to space out my hair washing and wash twice a week.  I don’t blow dry my hair and use foam rubber bendies to curl my just washed slightly damp hair to wear overnight to style my hair without using a curling iron.  If I’m rushed, I will use heat rollers, but sparingly, like a special occasion.

My scalp does not itch.  I am impressed it took care of that as well as appearing to thicken the hair strand. Let’s see what happens in three months! (at least the weather will change by then in NYC) and I would have had my hair trim for the Spring.

This is what my hair ends look like today – it’s a sunny blustery day in NYC. I did not curl or blow dry in any way.  Simply brushed.  Not as frizzy!

Hair ends today Januray 30 2017.jpg

Now the Pura d’Or line has a hair club, where you can buy it in recurring subscription form and have it delivered to  you.  There is a store locator on the main website if you are looking to find it in your neighborhood.

Did I mention the lines are cruelty-free?  Also Certified USDA Organic and USDA Certified Biobase Product.

From the website for the Hair Loss Prevention version (original scent, they now have a new one that is Lavender/Vanilla scented):

Usage Tips:

Apply to wet hair. Gently massage into scalp using fingertips. Leave on for 2 minutes to allow for deep penetration and full absorption of the essential oils and extracts. Rinse. For best results use for 3 months. Continue use thereafter. PURA D’OR does not use the chemical foaming agent SLS; if you’d like more suds from our SLS free shampoo, just use a few extra pumps!

Ingredients:

DEIONIZED PURIFIED WATER, DECYL GLUCOSIDE (DERIVED FROM NATURAL SUGAR), COCAMIDOPROPYL HYDROXYSULTAINE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), SODIUM C14-16 OLEFIN SULFONATE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), POLYQUATERNIUM-71 (DERIVED FROM PLANT), COCAMIDE MIPA (DERIVED FROM NATURAL SUGAR), DISODIUM LAURETH SULFOSUCCINATE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), POLYQUATERNIUM-80 (DERIVED FROM PLANT), DISODIUM LAURYL SULFOSUCCINATE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), MELALEUCA ALTERNIFOLIA (TEA TREE) LEAF OIL*, ARGANIA SPINOSA (ARGAN) KERNEL OIL*, BIOTIN (VITAMIN H), NIGELLA SATIVA (BLACK CUMIN) SEED OIL, EMBLICA OFFICINALIS (INDIAN GOOSEBERRY) FRUIT EXTRACT, URTICA DIOICA (NETTLE) LEAF EXTRACT, SERENOA SERRULATA (SAW PALMETTO) FRUIT EXTRACT, CEDRUS DEODARA (CEDARWOOD) BARK OIL, ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF OIL*, SALVIA OFFICINALIS (SAGE) OIL, POLYGONUM MULTIFLORUM (HE SHOU WU) ROOT EXTRACT, CITRUS MEDICA LIMONUM (LEMON) PEEL OIL*, HIBISCUS SABDARIFFA (ROSELLE) FLOWER EXTRACT, NICOTINIC ACID (NIACIN), ZINC PYRITHIONE, TOCOPHEROL (VITAMIN E), SOY ISOFLAVONE (NON-GMO), BETA-SITOSTEROL, CAMELLIA SINENSIS (GREEN TEA) LEAF EXTRACT, PHENOXYETHANOL (MILD PRESERVATIVE), CAPRYLYL ALCOHOL, ETHYLHEXYL GLYCERIN, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, CITRIC ACID (DERIVED FROM CITRUS FRUITS).

*Certified Organic Ingredients

For the Scalp Therapy version:

Ingredients:

DECOLORIZED ALOE BARBADENSIS (ALOE VERA) LEAF JUICE*, SODIUM LAURYLGLUCOSIDES HYDROXYPROPYLSULFONATE (DERIVED FROM CORN AND COCONUT), HYDROXYPROPYL BIS-HYDROXYETHYLDIMONIUM CHLORIDE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), COCAMIDOPROPYL HYDROXYSULTAINE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), COCAMIDOPROPYL BETAINE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), SODIUM COCOAMPHOACETATE (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), POLYQUATERNIUM-80 (DERIVED FROM PLANT), COCAMIDE MIPA (DERIVED FROM COCONUT), ARGANIA SPINOSA (ARGAN) KERNEL OIL*, MELALEUCA ALTERNIFOLIA (TEA TREE) LEAF OIL*, MENTHA PIPERITA (PEPPERMINT) OIL, CITRUS MEDICA LIMONUM (LEMON) PEEL OIL*, CEDRUS DEODARA (CEDARWOOD) BARK OIL, LAVANDULA ANGUSTIFOLIA (LAVENDER) OIL*, SALVIA OFFICINALIS (SAGE) OIL, PERSEA GRATISSIMA (AVOCADO) OIL*, POGOSTEMON CABLIN (PATCHOULI) OIL, BIOTIN (VITAMIN H), B-VITAMIN COMPLEX, ZINC PYRITHIONE, VITAMIN E, POTASSIUM SORBATE AND SODIUM BENZOATE (FOOD GRADE PRESERVATIVES), CITRIC ACID (DERIVED FROM CITRUS FRUITS).

*Certified Organic Ingredients

For the Healing Conditioner:

Ingredients:

DEIONIZED PURIFIED WATER, COCOS NUCIFERA (COCONUT) PROTEIN, LIMNANTHES ALBA (MEADOWFOAM) SEED OIL, HYDROGENATED ETHYLHEXYL OLIVATE, POLYQUATERNIUM-81 (DERIVED FROM PLANT), HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE, GLYCERIN, ARGANIA SPINOSA (ARGAN) KERNEL OIL*, LAVANDULA ANGUSTIFOLIA (LAVENDER) OIL*, VANILLA PLANIFOLIA (VANILLA) FRUIT EXTRACT, PHENOXYETHANOL, CAPRYLYL GLYCOL, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, RETINOL (VITAMIN A), PANTHENOL, TOCOPHEROL (VITAMIN E), CITRIC ACID (DERIVED FROM CITRUS FRUITS).

*Certified Organic Ingredients

For the Hair Loss Conditioner:

DECOLORIZED ALOE BARBADENSIS (ALOE VERA) LEAF JUICE*, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, STEARAMIDOPROPYL DIMETHYLAMINE, LIMNANTHES ALBA (MEADOWFOAM) SEED OIL, HYDROGENATED ETHYLHEXYL OLIVATE, HYDROGENATED OLIVE OIL UNSAPONIFIABLES, POLYQUATERNIUM-81 (DERIVED FROM PLANT), GUAR HYDROXYPROPYLTRIMONIUM CHLORIDE, HYDROXYETHYLCELLULOSE, GLYCERIN, ORYZA SATIVA (RICE) BRAN EXTRACT, HELIANTHUS ANNUUS (SUNFLOWER) EXTRACT, ARGANIA SPINOSA (ARGAN) KERNEL OIL*, EMBLICA OFFICINALIS (INDIAN GOOSEBERRY) FRUIT EXTRACT, NIGELLA SATIVA (BLACK CUMIN) SEED OIL, CEDRUS DEODARA (CEDARWOOD) BARK OIL, HIBISCUS SABDARIFFA (ROSELLE) FLOWER EXTRACT, CAMELLIA SINENSIS (GREEN TEA) LEAF EXTRACT, URTICA DIOICA (NETTLE) LEAF EXTRACT, BETA-SITOSTEROL, ROSMARINUS OFFICINALIS (ROSEMARY) LEAF OIL*, POLYGONUM MULTIFLORUM (HE SHOU WU) ROOT EXTRACT, SERENOA SERRULATA (SAW PALMETTO) FRUIT EXTRACT, SOY ISOFLAVONE (NON-GMO), GLYCINE SOJA (SOYBEAN) STEROLS, LECITHIN, CUCURBITA PEPO (PUMPKIN) SEED OIL, NICOTINIC ACID (NIACIN), BIOTIN (VITAMIN H), CAPSICUM FRUTESCENS (CAYENNE) FRUIT EXTRACT, PYRUS MALUS (APPLE) FRUIT EXTRACT, MALUS DOMESTICA (APPLE) FRUIT STEM CELL, COPPER TRIPEPTIDE-1, CATALASE ENZYME, CAFFEINE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, LINOLEIC ACID, STEARYL GLYCYRRHETINATE, MEADOWFOAM ESTOLIDE, MICROCOCCUS LYSATE, GANODERMA LUCIDUM (MUSHROOM) STEM EXTRACT, PRUNUS AFRICANA (PYGEUM) BARK EXTRACT, POTASSIUM SORBATE AND SODIUM BENZOATE (FOOD GRADE PRESERVATIVES), PHOSPHOLIPIDS, PLANKTON EXTRACT, RETINOL (VITAMIN A), PANTHENOL, TOCOPHEROL (VITAMIN E), CITRIC ACID (DERIVED FROM CITRUS FRUITS).

*Certified Organic Ingredients

 

Leave a Reply

