Let’s Review: MAKEUP REMOVERS – E.L.F. v. Maybelline

elf-v-maybelline-moisturizing

th

1

Now that I’ve been putting makeup on the regular, I have to find a sure way to provide the 1) most gentle 2) best cleansing makeup remover out there that 3) won’t cost a mini-fortune.

I’ve been using cotton pads and Cetaphil, which works fine, but was curious to give other makeup removers a try.

E.L.F. Makeup Remover Cleansing Cloths ($3.00 U.S.)

Smell is not offensive, contains aloe vera and has the appearance of baby wipes.  While baby wipes may not be appealing or sexy, the cleansing cloths get the job done.  I did notice that with stronger makeup, for example, metallics, the “cleansing cloth” has a bit of a problem removing and takes several swipes, but otherwise, it takes care of the makeup removal job.  No oily residue.

Maybelline Expert Eyes Moisturizing Eye Makeup Remover ($4.65 U.S.)

Doesn’t have a flowery or overpowering scent and is listed as fragrance free, and feels like I’m applying something like light baby oil on my face.  Just follow the directions – apply just a little tiny bit on a cotton pad, close your eyes, press gently to lid, wipe downward (which it does well in one swipe downward I got off the metallic eyeliner that the E.L.F. had trouble removing)  and then wait a few seconds, wipe with tissue.

Since it still felt a bit greasy to me (with mineral and lanolin oil in it, it’s no wonder), I picked up my Cetaphil and a fresh cotton pad and wiped and felt good as new.  No fuss no muss.  Its claim to remove stubborn and waterproof makeup stands true.

Dermatologist and ophthalmologist tested.

There are two versions of this makeup remover.  There is the moisturizing version (pink) that I’m reviewing here and the 100% Oil Free version (blue).  Both are for the same price.  The price on the Maybelline site is the manufacturer’s price, so you may see it from $3.00 to $6.99 U.S. elsewhere).

You can pick this product brand up I think about anywhere.  Amazon, Target, Walmart, local drug store, beauty supply store, Rite Aid, all sell it.  On the Maybelline site, there is a FIND A STORE locator.

Which one would I go with?  All of them are pretty decent.  If I had to really whittle it down, I’d say I’m staying with my Cetaphil and cotton pad, and switch with the E.L.F. Cleansing Cloth for a quick clean when I’m feeling lazy or too tired to wash my face at night.

Despite closing my eyes, the pink Maybelline did mess with my eyes a little.  Be really careful with this around the eyes, a little goes a long way.  I also did not find it truly moisturizing – one that I’ve mentioned in a prior post is from AVON and looks and feels a bit more of a lotion. Avon’s does share Mineral Oil as an ingredient.

Maybe the blue bottle (the non oil one) of Maybelline might make me change my tune, maybe not.  Maybe I’ll just continue on and try out Simple or Neutrogena cleansing cloths.  I may pick those up for the next face cleansing product comparison.  Stay tuned!

E.L.F. CLEANSING CLOTHS INGREDIENTS:

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Propylene Glycol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Hydrogenated Polydecene, Dimethicone, Glyceryl Stearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Disodium EDTA, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylisothiazolinone

MAYBELLINE PINK BOTTLE INGREDIENTS:  MINERAL OIL, ISOPROPYL PALMITATE, LANOLIN OIL, BUTYLPARABEN

MAYBELLINE BLUE BOTTLE INGREDIENTS:  WATER, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, DISODIUM, COCOAMPHODIACETATE, IMIDAZOLIDINYL UREA, DIPOTASSIUM, PHOSPHATE, METHYLPARABEN, POTASSIUM PHOSPHATE, DISODIUM EDTA, SODIUM LAURETH-8 SULFATE, SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE, ALLANTOIN, PHENETHYL ALCOHOL, SODIUM BENZOATE, MAGNESIUM LAURETH-8 SULFATE, MAGNESIUM LAURETH SULFATE, SODIUM OLETH SULFATE, MAGNESIUM OLETH SULFATE.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

