LET’S REVIEW: E.L.F. Cover Everything Concealer (& 5 hours later UPDATE)

Being in a concealer type of mood, I went into my recent E.L.F. haul and found this tidy little number called the E.L.F. Cover Everything Concealer in Corrective Yellow.

img_20161023_143647

It’s a teeny tiny unassuming little thing, doesn’t look like it could stand a drop to the ground, reminds me of those $1.00 things you would find in the 99 cent store.  Nothing calls too much attention to it, and if you saw it in the mix of all the color and bling that drugstore counters have these days, you probably would have overlooked it.

However, overlooking simple packaging can be foolhardy.  And this is E.L.F.

The concealer costs $2.00 (U.S.)

I wasn’t sure if this was going to be a powder or cream or what.  Turns out to be creamy, very buttery.  A gentle touch of the pad of your finger can show what this coverage can be.

img_20161023_143717

I used my finger to glide this under my lids and nose.  I even put it on my lids.  It doesn’t feel “cheap”.  It’s a very nice texture, blendable not oily. I didn’t notice any particular perfume or odor to it.  I did notice immediately that this is not a great concealer for the nose.

I then decided to forgo an eye primer and applied the E.L.F. Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadow.  On the lid I put WINE NOT (lovely purple-ish shimmery wine color) and on the crease to browbone I used AINT THAT SWEET (a very light pinkish color).  Creamy eyeshadows that blend easily as well.  I guess I wasn’t feeling any powders today.

img_20161023_144813

To complete the eye look, I used the E.L.F. Intense Ink Eyeliner.

img_20161023_150003

img_20161023_145046

To set the eye concealer, I used the E.L.F. HD Undereye Setting Powder.  Have had the concealer on now for about an hour.  The concealer doesn’t seem to cake and doesn’t crease.  Good so far.  I will update later today probably in four or five hours to see if this concealer held up —

UPDATE:  Five hours later:

and perspiring a little after giving the dog a bath:

the E.L.F. Cover Everything concealer is still in place, didn’t break up or crease or fall apart.  YAY!  Great for the eye area.  But as far as “Cover Everything”?  Nope.  Kind of splotchy on my nose. Freckles showed through.  Uneven.  Does not control oil, either.

img_20161023_183342

DETAILS:

This rich blendable cream concealer easily covers under-eye circles and imperfections for flawless looking coverage. Simply dab concealer onto areas you wish to cover for a flawless, natural look! The safe, gentle formula is ideal for all skin types for beautiful healthy-looking skin.

INGREDIENTS:

Mica, Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Ozokerite, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Tridecyl Trimellitate, Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2, Polyisobutene, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Phenoxyethanol, Silica Dimethyl Silylate May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140)

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

