Let’s Review: Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer / L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation (and 9 hour later update)

There has been quite a buzz about this product on YT and a lot of vloggers have tried it out and given their two cents about their experience with the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation (there is a version that gives a glow look that I did not get).  Interesting that the second ingredient listed in this is actually WATER.  Whuuuhhh??  How does that happen with a matte formula?

I never really truly dabbled in foundations, the only one I kind of use is the Bare Minerals Matte one, and that’s a light dusting of the powder over nose and cheekbone to tone down the freckles and soak up the oil on my nose.  When I was a teen, my memories of foundation was of my sister who would glop on the Cover Girl stuff and seemed to spackle her face with it, literally.  Then her skin would turn orange – which I have learned the correct term from YT called “oxidizing”.  Ew.  I always thought that putting too much of anything on the skin would cause it not to breathe or not get air and end up clogging my pores, and I didn’t want to add another layer to my makeup regimen.  I have to say that YT did influence this purchase, so I was curious and just had to try it.

With a clean face (thank you Cetaphil!) I started with my Smashbox Photo Primer before deciding what I was going to do next.  I decided to try the Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer in Fair Claire.  As you can see, the applicator nib is not anything extraodinary, simple.  The product is mostly on the brush, but not gloppy which is good.  No product on the long part of the wand which is good.  Very clean.

img_20161018_173818

I was going to apply it straight with a clean finger but instead decided to try my Concealer brush from Benefit.  The brush is sturdy, soft but not overly soft.  Holds its own and took the product quite well.  Maybelline’s Fit Me! Concealer went on smooth, almost buttery, and I was able to easily smooth it out under my eyes with the concealer brush. I then took a clean finger and softened the edges around my eyes.  I did not notice a smell or perfume from the concealer or brush.

benefit-concealer-brush

img_20161018_174136

Please forgive the redness around the brows, I just had them waxed.  Yes, I wax.  Plucking to me is barbaric and takes too long.  Rip out one hair at a time?  Um. No.  Just do it all at once, rip off that bandaid!

Ahem.

The Fair one worked for my eyes.  I liked how it looked.  It sits nicely under my eyes and covers quite well.  It’s not heavy coverage, but more like a medium, which is fine.  If I need more heavy coverage, I may just reach for the Benefit Paste one.  For everyday, this is pretty good and not greasy or slimy.

My eyes looked rested and bright.  No orangey-undertones….nice!

Price tag:  $6.49 (U.S.)  You can find this also on Amazon and Ulta.

img_20161018_174707

Now it was time to try out the L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte foundation.  After trying to figure out which one I should get for my peaches and cream coloring, I went with 104, Golden Beige.  A little dark. I think I’ll go to 102 or 103 next time.

img_20161018_174753

Since I don’t have a Beauty Blender I tried initially using the Benefit Concealer brush before using my fingertips to distribute and blend into my face.  On the website it says you can use your fingers.  OK.  It worked in well.  Coverage is decent, on the moderate side.  It didn’t have an overpowering smell, understated.  Kind of makeup-y but not overly so.  It didn’t bother me.  After applying, it dried quickly, and I don’t feel a heavyness on my skin.  My skin feels smooth.  There’s a slight powdery feel to the skin as I pass my fingers lightly over my cheek and jaw bone areas.

img_20161018_174924

See pic below.

Ummmmm….yup, I will need to invest in a Beauty Blender for sure.  I see some streaking above the brow on the left of picture and by upper eyelid of same and cheek bone on the right.  It’s my first time doing this with liquid foundation of any kind so …I’m not completely turned off.  I just need a better instrument to help distribute and blend, especially on my nose.

The overall effect?  Errrrr…..Powdery.  Some patchiness on the distribution of color.  Might be flawless with a BeautyBlender though.  Will have to invest in something like that and try that out.  Not bad overall but not bowled over.  My face is matte and there’s no shine or greasiness.

This is supposed to have 24 hour coverage.  Uh-huh.  I will only have it on for 10 hours and see how it goes.  Will update later.

Price tag?  $12.99 (U.S.) — pricey for drugstore cosmetic.  You can also find this on Amazon and Ulta.

img_20161018_190033

UPDATE:

This is me 9 hours later:

img_20161018_230234

There is a flashback when you photograph with this foundation on.  You can see the streak marks – I kept it all in place for the 10 hours.  Bravo L’Oreal and Maybelline – no creasing and stays color true.  I will continue to acquaint myself with the L’Oreal foundation, but with the bounceback, I’m wondering on checking out other foundations that will provide less of that.

The Story on the Foundation:

Up to 24hr matte without the flat. Air-light texture, Demi-matte finish. The pro look of longwear.

Achieve a matte finish that won’t fall flat with this air-light, longwearing liquid formula. Lightweight and creamy, foundation goes on smooth with a demi-matte finish that lasts up to 24 hours—hiding imperfections for a smooth, clear complexion.

To apply, use fingers or your favorite makeup brush.

Ingredients:

INGREDIENTS AQUA / WATER / EAU DIMETHICONE ISODODECANE NYLON-12 ACRYLATES/POLYTRIMETHYLSILOXYMETHACRYLATE COPOLYMER SILICA BUTYLENE GLYCOL PEG-10 DIMETHICONE ISOHEXADECANE ISONONYL ISONONANOATE PENTYLENE GLYCOL SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE BIS-PEG/PPG-14/14 DIMETHICONE MAGNESIUM SULFATE PHENOXYETHANOL CAPRYLYL GLYCOL ACRYLATES COPOLYMER DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE CALCIUM GLUCONATE PERLITE MAGNESIUM GLUCONATE TOCOPHEROL ALUMINUM HYDROXIDE [+/- MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES ]

One thought on “Let’s Review: Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer / L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation (and 9 hour later update)

Leave a Reply

