LET’S REVIEW: N.Y.C. New York Color City Proof Twistable Intense Lip Color

img_20161015_204341

By accident, I came upon these little wonders at the drugstore.  I liked that the line was named after New York City locations, and the colors are so pretty.

The ones I decided on were:  Riverside a nude mauvy rose color

South Ferry which is an intense kissable strawberry color

Ballroom which is a deep dark pink (Blush)

Fulton Street, which is a bright deep cheerful pink (Fuchsia)

All of these provide nice moisturizing to the lip along with great pigmentation and shine.  They can be applied very easily.  They glide on easily.

riverside

They appear as jumbo crayon like with a clear plastic top.  When you take off the top, you will see a point already there ready to use.  As you continue using this product, you will find that you simply twist the side body of it and the nib will rise with more product.  It’s like a mechanical pencil, no need to sharpen or find a sharpener.  Very cool.

I’ve hotlinked each color to the NYC makeup website, and you will find a comparison price window there that you can use to locate and purchase the color you want.

Riverside provides shine, just a hint of color — I use this as an everyday, as the pigmentation gets lost on my lips which are on their own pigmented.    It’s nice as an office every day kind of color, or for a makeup no makeup look.

riverside3

 

South Ferry is when I want something a little more to provide color and healthy glow to my face.  It’s a lot darker than the other shades, and has a beautiful strawberry luscious look.  Definitely something to wear if you want to attract a certain someone’s eyes to kiss you.

south-street-berry1

Fulton Street is my go to for daytime.  It’s bright, cheerful and puts a smile on my face.  It’s also great when I’m not wearing a lot of makeup, and I want to keep things light but still have a splash of color on my face so I look healthy.  I wear this with some blush and I’m good to go.

deep-dark-pink1

Ballroom is my favorite.  Like a favorite pair of jeans, this can be a dress up or casual color.  It’s described as “Blush” but it’s a lot haughtier than that.  It’s like if innocence just had it’s first real delicious life experience and fell in lust.  This is the color I first laid eyes on and it’s the one that introduced me to the color line.

FYI – Per usual, I did not use a lip liner.  So it does smudge – see the last pink one above…you will need a liner for this.

There is a hint of nut, an understated nutty smell.  Reading the ingredients list I see jojoba, palm, and castor oils to be in the mix.  These lipsticks are not long lasting and smear, a lot of transfer.  They are not matte or stay put lipsticks.  You will be refreshing and checking  your lips several times.  These are meant to shine and give that come hither kiss me I just had my lips bruised with sweet juicy fruit kind of look.

These are around $2.99 and available in drugstores everywhere.  Amazon and Walmart if you’re looking on-line.  I have seen them in Walgreens.  The price and the New York City references and the color and shine — oooh, I want to get them all!

Actress/Singer Demi Lovato has a tie-in with them. I think like her, NYC is pushing a no fuss glam storyline.

Love their story:

The quickest route to amazing lip color!

With intense, high-density color pay-off and a shiny, medium-gloss finish, your pout will stay put hours after initial application. The clever pen format was designed specifically to suit those on the move who don’t have a mirror, or, for that matter, time for fussy lip products. Just twist, glide on and go!

Ingredients : ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, tridecyl trimellitate, octyldodecanol, pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate, candelilla cera/euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax/cire de candelilla, bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2, peg-4 diheptanoate, peg-8 beeswax, polyethylene, neopentyl glycol dicaprylate/dicaprate, tridecyl stearate, polybutene,vp/hexadecene copolymer, ozokerite, hydrogenated palm oil, cera alba/beeswax/cire d’abeille, simmondsia chinensis(jojoba) seed oil, parfum/fragrance, synthetic fluorphlogopite, benzyl benzoate, silica, palmitic acid, stearic acid,stearyl stearate, tocopheryl acetate, propylparaben, alumina, benzyl salicylate, benzyl cinnamate, linalool, cinnamyl alcohol, aqua/water/eau, eugenol, [may contain/peut contenir/+/-:mica, titanium dioxide (ci 77891), fd&c yellow no. 6 aluminum lake (ci 15985), d&c red no. 7 calcium lake (ci 15850), d&c red no. 33 aluminum lake (ci 17200), d&c red no. 27 aluminum lake (ci 45410), iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499), d&c red no. 22 aluminum lake (ci 45380), d&c red no. 6 barium lake (ci 15850), d&c yellow no. 6 aluminum lake (ci 15985), fd&c blue no. 1 (ci 42090)].

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

