Let’s Review: L’Oreal Colour Riche Le Gloss – Moisturizing Lip Gloss

img_20161009_130356

A lovely friend sent me a tube of L’Oreal Colour Riche Le Gloss as she knows I love lip gloss.  This one is called Raspberry Splash.  I liked the color in the tube, and the packaging was fine, nothing extraordinary.  What I did find interesting was the little point inside the cap, which I assume is to keep the inner tube opening from caking up or drying out.  So that was interesting.

img_20161009_131738

img_20161009_131756

I applied the gloss and smelled a very strong …artificially vanilla smell.  Like if I didn’t know better it had alcohol in it.  I was just kind of surprised by it, because normally a vanilla smell in lipgloss doesn’t smell or taste like a weird artificial medicine-y type of taste.

As far as the texture and how it feels on the lip — I thought this would be gloopy, slippery, and it’s not bad.  It’s a bit smooth, a little slippery, but not overly.

As far as the pigmentation, I was expecting more.  My lips are pigmented to begin with, so I am looking for color and this did not have enough.  It went on almost clear with a tinge of light baby pink.  That was disappointing.  I tried a second then third coating and … same.  When you put more than three coats on, it will get a little gloppy. But pressing my lips together, it wasn’t sticky, rather nice and buttery.  My lips felt soft, moisturized.

It’s OK for every day wear if you can get over the initial taste.  Again, I did not put on a lip liner so you see where the shine shows outside my natural lip line.  Maybe I need a darker shade — the raspberry splash color I have looked pretty dark in the tube (see above) — and I’ve seen other postings from beauty bloggers that show a pigmentation in the darker ones.  But I’m not really inclined to go out and buy one.

The price at the L’Oreal website is $7.95 (U.S.)

img_20161009_132205

I checked the ingredients and a form of alcohol appears a couple of times within.  BENZYL ALCOHOL is considered harmless and occurs naturally in nature, although it does come up as an ingredient for treating head lice, and ISOSTEARYL ALCOHOL is in the category of “fatty alcohol” and acts as a thickener or emulsifier in cosmetics.  It mentions nothing of smell, although Benzyl is attibuted by having a pleasant one.

  • Description
  • Ingredients

Extreme Shine. Supreme Creaminess. Ultra-hydrating Argan Oil & Omega 3.

Discover our richest shine indulgence for your lips. New Colour Riche® Le Gloss is infused with ultra-hydrating Omega 3, protective Vitamin E, and Argan Oil for our richest shine experience yet. Wear alone or over your favorite shade of Colour Riche® Lipcolour to customize your look.

Available in 16 sensual shades from our deepest plum to crystal clear.

G849192:C18-36 ACID TRIGLYCERIDE • BIS-IGLYCERYL POLYACYLADIPATE-2 • PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRAISOSTEARATE • POLYBUTENE • TRIDECYL TRIMELLITATE • DIISOSTEARYL MALATE • SILICA DIMETHYL SILYLATE • PENTYLENE GLYCOL • CAPRYLYL GLYCOL • CALCIUM ALUMINUM BOROSILICATE • PENTAERYTHRITYL TETRA-DI-T-BUTYL HYDROXYHYDROCINNAMATE • BENZYL ALCOHOL • ALUMINA • ARGANIA SPINOSA OIL / ARGANIA SPINOSA KERNEL OIL • TOCOPHERYL ACETATE • ROSA CANINA FRUIT OIL • ISOSTEARYL ALCOHOL • SODIUM SACCHARIN • CALCIUM SODIUM BOROSILICATE • SILICA • SYNTHETIC FLUORPHLOGOPITE • POLYETHYLENE TEREPHTHALATE • TIN OXIDE • ACRYLATES COPOLYMER • PARFUM / FRAGRANCE [MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR : CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE • MICA • CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499 / IRON OXIDES •CI 45380 / RED 22 LAKE • CI 45410 / RED 28 LAKE • CI 15985 / YELLOW 6 LAKE •CI 15850 / RED 7 • CI 15850 / RED 7 LAKE • CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE • CI 75470 / CARMINE • CI 42090 / BLUE 1 LAKE ] FIL- D46376/4

Leave a Reply

