LET’S REVIEW: E.L.F. Glide On Gel Eyeliner

Today I got a questionnaire from E.L.F. asking my thoughts on the Glide On Gel Eyeliner which is one of their new products and, in turn, prompted me to write about their product here.

I had bought it as part of a haul to try E.L.F. out after having such a positive experience with their E.L.F. Eye Lock Primer.  I had been on my usual YT makeup beauty viewing binge, and kept seeing about getting a nude eyeliner to help brighten and define the eye, most especially a nude, as white was considered too bright and unnatural.

I figured why not try out my luck with E.L.F.?  And for $3.00 (U.S.), I couldn’t say no.

I bought the E.L.F. Glide On Eyeliner in Brightening Nude.

glide-on-eyeliner

see-how-thin

I expected the color to give me a natural brightness which it kind of did but…it didn’t seem to show or stay put.  I’ll clarify:  that the appearance of the natural brightness was “very understated”.  I’m not one to rub my eyes on the regular, but I didn’t see if this was waterproof.  The pigmentation didn’t seem to be there.  I then read in the “how to use” that I should also use a liner sealer for it to “last all day”.  So it’s a two step thing.

This would have been awesome if they did to this what they did to the Eye Primer & Liner Sealer, in that one end has the Eyeliner and the other side had the liner sealer.  This would then sell like hotcakes.

I really wanted to like this product.  It DOES go on smoothly, glides on just as it says.  The design is nice.  I would add that it’s very thin.  The thin pencil look and small nib and you twist the bottom for the tip to ride up — do this carefully and not expose too much as the pencil nib is a bit thin and sensitive, moves around a bit so you don’t want it to break off.  As far as the “gel” – it does not go on as liquid or a gel, more like a very thin tiny solid concealer pencil.  I’m assuming the “gel” means that it goes on smooth, but the “Glide” in the eyeliner’s title would take care of that….?

I like the design, I like the idea.  I just want more pigmentation and staying power.

details

A long lasting creamy gel eyeliner. This richly pigmented liner glides easily onto the lash and waterlines for bold rich color.

how to use

  • Draw the tip of the eyeliner across the eyelid, sticking as close to the lash line as possible.
  • Apply over your waterline for fully defined eyes.
  • Use with a liner sealer for color that lasts all day.

ingredients

81317 INGREDIENTS: Cyclopentasiloxane, Polyethylene, Cyclohexasiloxane, Polybutene, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve) MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides ( CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019)

81318 INGREDIENTS: Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Polyethylene, Polybutene, Octyldodecanol, Dimethicone, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve) MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides ( CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019)

81319 INGREDIENTS: Polyethylene, Polybutene, Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Ozokerite, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Synthetic Wax, Phenoxyethanol, Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Caprylyl Glycol, Alumina, Glycerin MAY CONTAIN: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides ( CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Mica (CI 77019)

 

Leave a Reply

