LET’S REVIEW: Lazy Rainy Day Makeup No Makeup Look

It’s a rainy day here in NYC, and has been gray and cool on and off all week long.  After doing some household chores and getting a chicken to bake in the oven, I was feeling flush with accomplishment.  Then I thought, I had to run some errands outside, wanted to play with makeup, but didn’t want to overly-do.  I was picking up some household supplies, like paper towels and toilet paper, not exactly glamourous and didn’t scream major diva makeup queen.

I played it like a makeup no-makeup day.

For starters, I cleaned my face with a little Cetaphil on a makeup soft cotton pad along my T-zone and cheeks.  Then I moisturized with Hope In A Jar by philosophy.  If I remember to do it, I also continue to massage HIAJ into my neck and chest.

20161001_6

For the primer, I used E.L.F. Primer & Liner Sealer.  Just the primer side on the eyelids.

Because I didn’t want a lot of color just a suggestion, a little glimmer was applied to the eye.  I used E.L.F. Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadow in Gotta Glow and it’s a nice shimmer without the glare.  I used a clean finger and put a little on the upper lids.  It’s a nice formula and I see it’s currently out of stock on E.L.F.’s website.  It’s probably layerable if you want to add more color and shine.

20161001_12.JPG

I then used the E.L.F. Glide On Gel Eyeliner in Brightening Nude on and under my eye  waterline and top lash.  This doesn’t “brighten” markedly, it’s very subtle, and the pigmentation is rather light.  Luckily this moves over my eye skin area rather smoothly as I run it over back and forth several times.  So it gives kind of a natural look.  It does tone down a bit the red or pinkish tone that I have at the waterline.

20161001_42

I decided I was going to add some color to the cheeks, so I’d look healthy, glowy.  I also wanted some cheekbone definition.  I decided on NARS Multiple in Orgasm. I placed color right under my cheekbone and blended in with my fingers.

20161001_36

20161001_44

Now, lipstick.  Again, keeping it natural.  I went with E.L.F. Studio Matte Lipcolor in PRALINE.  My review on Praline is HERE.

To keep the shine on my nose and upper cheeks a little more muted and to keep my freckles in check from the not long ago summer funtime, I used Bare Minerals Matte Foundation in Medium Beige.

20161001_20.JPG

I also added on the upper eyelid a soft brown pencil called Just For Redheads Retractable Eyeliner in Dark Chocolate.

20161001_41

20161001_17

For added shine on my lips, I applied NARS Lip Gloss in Guyane. I checked NARS website and they no longer carry it.

20161001_2.JPG

And voila – my no makeup makeup look is complete. Oh the irony.

I look rested and…just from the beach in a peachy tone kinda way.

 

20161001_27

Leave a Reply

