Let’s Review: Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lip

I think I will need to pick up a couple more of Colourpop’s Eyeshadows and a highlighter or two to make a final assessment on Colourpop’s appeal for me.  Go beauty shopping?  All in the name of research…and color!  tee hee!

In the meantime…

This is Colourpop Ultra Glossy Lip in SOOKIE, which was part of that purchase I made during the Fall push on their site.

SOOKIE surprised me – delightedly.  Mostly.

The initial impression is the packaging is the same sleek simple clean see through packaging that Colourpop has with their matte line.

Upon opening, I didn’t notice a scent or smell, the color appeared brownish purplish in the tube and the product was mostly on the “doe foot” or nib, the wand stick part itself was rather clean.

img_20160927_182450

I did not apply a lip liner, per usual.  The color slicked on nicely, does not feel heavy, but I did notice some transfer onto my front teeth.  The product is not heavy on my lip

Although the product appears as a brownish purplish color, it goes on more on the purple wine berry side.  Their website describes it as “rich plum with a cream finish”.  The color and initial shine are beautiful.  Then the wetness dies down a little and there is a kind of “cream finish”.  When it is not a lipstick that stays put, as the expectation would be to stay put with liquid mattes, there is color transfer.  With the initial gloss finish I would wear this again – and will be part of my Fall makeup look this year.

lips

20160927_34

What made me say “mostly” earlier?  I mean, I have it and I’m gonna wear it but that finish was a problem for me.  The price is nice at $6.00 (U.S.).  But.  Here’s what I mean about that “creame finish” — less dimensional, flat, cream, with a shine but no glossy look – somehow this seemed “old fashioned” to me — this is what it looked like four hours later, I apologize for the bad photo my phone was not cooperating:

img_20160927_200348

P.S. I already have full lips so didn’t notice a huge difference – the site claims to make lips “appear fuller and healthier.”  They were soft and kissable and the lippie itself wasn’t heavy.  Tee hee!

DETAILS

ULTRA GLOSSY LIP     Provides extreme shine with a cushion-like comfortable feel. Absolutely NO stickiness or tackiness! This lip gloss smooths and conditions the lips with emollient ingredients leaving your lips looking fuller, healthier, and super kissable.

FINISH  Crème

SHADE  Violets, Darks

NET WEIGHT2.41 g / 0.09 oz

INGREDIENTS:

DIMER DILINOLEYL DIMER, DILINOLEATE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, ISOPROPYL MYRISTATE, TRIISOSTEARIN, SYNTHETIC BEESWAX, STEARALKONIUM HECTORITE, SILICA, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, IRON OXIDES (CI 77499, CI 77491, CI 77492), RED 7 LAKE (CI 15850), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

