Let’s Review: E.L.F. Matte Lip Color

Today I decided to go for some color – in this case, nude.  As my lips are heavily pigmented, nudes that look natural lush and good are hard to come by.  As my current like, E.L.F. has a matte lip color line that I just had to try.

I did not exfoliate my lips – the exfoliator I had bought from E.L.F. needs a replacement, so I had simply gone to lip primer, in this case, I again used NYX Lip Primer in Nude.

After a couple minutes, I then went over it with the E.L.F. Matte Lip Color in PRALINE.

The color goes on like a crayon, a bit waxy, but smooth.

It doesn’t look unnatural, coverage is fine and doesn’t feel heavy or chalky on my lips.

20160925_34

20160925_61

Again, I did all this without lipliner, as I prefer a more natural look and that’s how I usually put on my lip.  This kind of has the texture of a lipliner in a way, so I don’t think this will run or feather.

This Praline color is a nice every day color when in the office dealing with office workers or wanting a no-makeup, makeup look.

In the description for this, E.L.F. describes this as “jumbo”.  It’s a nice size but not particularly huge.

But.

For $3.00 (U.S.), I’m inspired to try out the other colors in the line.

From the website:

DESCRIPTION

This convenient jumbo sized lip pencil creates exact color application with twist up ease so you never have to sharpen – but we included a sharpener at the base just in case! The pigment rich color glides on effortlessly and easily to provide long lasting matte color. The enriched Vitamin A, C & E formula moisturizes and hydrates lips for beautiful healthy looking lips.

How To Use

  • Apply to lips and blend in color.
  • Use alone or layer with your favorite lip gloss shade for a glossy effect.

INGREDIENTS:

Ingredients: Paraffinum Liquidum (Mineral Oil), Synthetic Beeswax, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), Ethylhexyl Palmitate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax, Ozokerite, Polyethylene, Ceresin, Silica Dimethyl Silylate, Polyisobutene, Neotame, Polyglyceryl-4 Isostearate, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Isobutylparaben, Butylparaben, Retinyl Palmitate (Va), Ascorbic Acid (Vc), Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve)
May Contain: Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 40 Lake (CI 16035), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Red 27 Lake (CI 45410), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850)

3 thoughts on “Let’s Review: E.L.F. Matte Lip Color

  1. Awesome post! I’ve actually had my eye on this specific matte lipstick for a while. Thanks for sharing this post! I love that you added so much detail about the ingredients and the vitamins that were in the lipstick.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

