LET’S REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip

This is my second product from Colourpop, this came with the order I had placed that had the lovely lilac colored eyeshadow and it was part of a Fall promotion push Colourpop had on the website.  I had gotten one other color for the lip, which I will review in another post.  YAY!

This color, LOVE BUG, was part of the four debuting Fall colours for 2016.

As this is the first day of Fall, I decided to celebrate and break out the Fall color to see if it was everything and more.  I’m more of a blue red, dark pink kind of girl so I wanted to spice things up and make a real change.

There is a nice clear container that shows you the shade of lip product very nicely, nothing exciting or dramatic about it.  There is a bit of heft to the product, it’s a nice weight, not too heavy or clunky.

Screw off the lovely shiny top and the wick comes out nicely, you see the product cling to the wand as well as the nib.  I found the nib surprisingly small.

20160922_50

While it looks like a rust red here, it dries to a nice earthy red brown.  Website says “terracotta”.

 

20160922_17

I followed directions and had my lips clean, smooth, and primed.

If you are curious on the lip primer I used, it was NYX Lip Primer.

20160922_30

20160922_111

Again, I do not line my lips, although Colourpop suggests that on their website.  That’s just me, but others may find it useful to do so.  As I was letting it set, a little smear went on my teeth.  I quickly removed but I had assumed that once this sets, it’s good to go.

The product feels light on my lips, I don’t feel like I have something heavy or slimy on.  When I press my lips together, there is no transfer or goopy gloppy feeling.  The makeup feels smooth, my lips feel a little buttery soft but not greasy.

After drying for about ten minutes, I kissed my palm and there was a bit of light transfer. Not enough for me to worry though.

20160922_115

The color is DARK, stark contrast against my peaches and cream complexion, but I love a change of pace and I love color so I will probably need to balance this with some major makeup on the eyes and cheeks to finish the look.

I tried with a light eyeshadow color – Aveda’s Petal Essence Single Eyeshadow in Green Tuberose, and I thought, I need MORE color!  In the shot below, the Colourpop lippie is still drying so you see the reddishness in the color in the bottle I’m talking about.

20160922_94

It’s interesting that initially this color was introduced as a “terracotta” but read further down in the PRODUCT INFO section and I read this: “SHADE:  Oranges/Corals”

ULTRA MATTE LIP  This thin and lightweight formula glides onto the lips leaving SUPER intense colour with a bold, ultra matte finish. It’s very long wearing and completely kiss proof!

SHADE  Oranges/Corals

NET WEIGHT  3.2 g / 0.11 oz

INGREDIENT OVERVIEW

ISODODECANE, NYLON-12, DIISOPROPYL DIMER DILINOLEATE, SILICA, TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, POLYPROPYLSILSESQUIOXANE, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, BLUE 1 LAKE (CI 42090), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), RED 7 LAKE (CI 15850), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891).

APPLICATION SUGGESTION FROM WEBSITE

Make sure your lips are bare, dry, and exfoliated for the smoothest finish. Apply a matching lip pencil for a precise and perfected application. Next, apply Ultra Matte Lip with the applicator or your favorite lip brush. We suggest storing these babies upright and shaking before application!

In case you were wondering, I ate dinner (baked ziti and a slice of garlic bread) and yummers it was.  And YES the product stayed on and in place.  There was a little bit of transfer on the straw I was drinking my soda from.

Four hours later…still on.

Verdict?

YES I would wear it again.  I’m already planning a cute hat to go with this look, while I figure out the eyes….and hair do.

One thought on “LET’S REVIEW: Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip

Leave a Reply

