LET’S REVIEW: Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadow

Yes, this is a You-Tube-r influenced purchase!

I kept hearing about Colourpop this and Colourpop that while doing my now usual You Tube makeup viewing binge, and decided to find out about the hype.

The actual product is interesting.  It feels a little like putty as your body temperature helps to soften the makeup in the pot it comes in.  The emphasis on the packaging is to make sure that you screw the top on tight after use, so the container and top keep it possibly hydrated and keep the air from drying it out to maintain its integrity or something.  I thought, just as you would with clay or putty, you have to put it in a tightly sealed container so it doesn’t dry out.  It is also noted on You Tube sites that you should use your finger not a brush.  Another HMMM.  As you rub your finger onto the top of the shadow, it feels like it starts to give way and become like this clay like texture.  Very fun and very interesting.

The color I got was part of the Fall color line they are pushing on their website.  It was part of the “buy this and get one of the new yet to be released fall lip gloss/matte” colors — the more you buy the more you can get these debuting colors before they are released to the general public type of thing.  I think it went like if you bought like $50. worth of product you’d get all four upcoming lip colors.  If you buy $10. you get one.   I went with the one.

I saw the purplish color scheme they were pushing for the Fall so I said to myself, why not, go for the Fall purplish color then.  I picked TANG.

The color looks dark in the pot but goes on very light, very pretty, almost like an Easter Egg lilac color.  I listened to what some of the You Tubers were saying, to apply an eye primer beforehand, so I did, my FAVE E.L.F. Shadow Lock, and it came through just fine.  I was so happy I did, because the color is pale, not very pigmented, but very pretty.  It’s like a soft purplish cloud dream, this color.

colourpop-eyeshadow-and-elf-lipgloss-sept-19

The texture the color in the pot goes through fascinated me more than anything.  Would I buy another?  Dunno.  I had to rub my finger in it quite a bit to get some color transfer.  Hm.  But at least it doesn’t flake into a powdery mess on the bottom of my lids or onto the top of my cheekbones, which is nice.  I may try this with a wet application next time to see if this changes the color intensity or not.

Description direct from the website, they again emphasize closing up the lid TIGHT:

“For maximum coverage use the fingertip to tap shadow on the eyelid. A flat, fine tip synthetic brush is perfect for detailed application close to the lash line. Using a fluffy brush that has good movement, dip the tip of the brush into the shadow and apply with a “windshield wiper” movement throughout the crease of the eye. This will make your shadow appear soft and diffused like a total pro! When finished, close that sucker up tight! Don’t leave the jar opened for long periods of time, you may lose some of the magic that makes the Super Shock Shadow so amazing.”

Price is like $5.00 a color shadow pot.

INGREDIENTS LISTED

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE, TRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE, ISODODECANE, BORON NITRIDE, C30-45 ALKYL CETEARYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, CYCLOHEXASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE/VINYLTRIMETHYLSILOXYSILICATE CROSSPOLYMER, PHENOXYETHANOL, DISTEARDIMONIUM HECTORITE, MANGIFERA INDICA (MANGO) SEED BUTTER, PROPYLENE CARBONATE, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, GLYCINE SOJA (SOYBEAN) OIL, CUCUMIS SATIVUS (CUCUMBER) FRUIT EXTRACT, BISMUTH OXYCHLORIDE (CI 77163), CARMINE (CI 75470), MICA (CI 77019), IRON OXIDES (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), TITANIUM DIOXIDE (CI 77891).

If you are wondering what lip I’m wearing, it’s … E.L.F. Lip Lacquer in Bold Pink.  Will write a review for that later….

 

 

4 thoughts on “LET’S REVIEW: Colourpop Super Shock Eyeshadow

Leave a Reply

