Let’s Review: Pumpkin Spice Latte Sparkle!

pumpkin-spice-latte

Oh honey, you had me at Pumpkin Spice….

While wandering on social media sites, I came across an article on Twitter that Tweezerman posted for the above mentioned unicorn. I loved the picture, it was like a scoop of frosty yummy pumpkin ice cream (alert, MY idea, anyone executes it, I get a 40 percent take in profits!) I was looking for a highlighter and wanted something fun for the Fall. I am also new to the makeup world, and was trying to figure out whether a highlight would work for me, was it even necessary?

Welp, I followed the link that Tweezerman posted, and it took me to the Etsy website where “FeatherRiverBody” has a store, where there’s all these lovely mineral makeup pigments and pressed makeup. I ordered the color, and waited. About a week later, I got the goodie. I stared at it for a day, wondering, what was I thinking, getting a “fun” highlighter for my face? The color looked sparkly, the container it came in…tiny.  And it’s a pale glittery orange.  Orange?!  I worried. Would this deliver? How much would I have to use to make it shiny beautiful?

Today was the day to find out. I took my finger and put a little of the pumpkin latte on my finger. OMG. SHINE. Still, I wasn’t totally convinced. The real test would be to apply it. I had watched quite a few videos on YouTube which helped me be more confident on how to apply and where on my face.

how-shiny

A little goes a long way. Luckily I started very tentatively and put only a little on the brush. The application was smooth and not chalky or scratchy. Not greasy. It feels a bit…soft and creamy. But it’s not creamy.  I went and looked in the mirror. I just went WOW automatic payoff. The glow was there, and it was real. And it looked – good!

first-apply-september-16-2016

I had put on a blush from E.L.F. and just blended a little of the highlighter into the skin right above it, on my bone under the eyesocket. It looked beautiful, not garish or overdone. I decided to take it for a spin and spent the next seven hours outside, traveling on the train, meeting up with people, and then heading back on the train and home. I took a picture after getting in, and was amazed to see the color was still beautifully glowy. And amazingly natural. No one said, OMG what did you do to your face? I like the makeup plays things up but not shouting “HERE I AM”. But you could see it, and it’s beautiful.

still-have-pumpkin-sheen-7-hours-later

For my first time with a highlighter — I am so so happy! If you have a little color in your skin — neutral and yellow undertones will LOVE this color. I don’t know about pink undertones, but I’ve had sun in my face and got a peachy glow on my peaches and cream skin so this just adds to the beauty, which I love.

I was able to remove with a little makeup remover — in my case, I use something gentle like Cetaphil.  There was no reaction or breakout on my skin while it was on, so another plus.

Quick overview from the Etsy store site:

Overview

  • Handmade item
  • Materials: Mica, Magnesium Myristate, Titatnium Dioxide, Oxides, Silica Microspheres, Silk Mica, Pashmica, L Lysine, Carnauba Wax, Zinc Stearate, Kaolin Clay, Calcium Carbonate
  • Made to order
  • Ships from United States to select countries.

The price for this little 10 gram of pumpkin light goodness? Six dollars. Run. Don’t walk. Go order. Now. Before it runs out!

img06238-20160912-2004

Leave a Reply

